- Register with your account.
- Click Account settings in the Account Details section.
- Click Unlink next to the Microsoft account ID in the section for Linked accounts.
Users of Skype with a Microsoft account are typically used to Microsoft immediately login into their Skype account. The Microsoft account is no longer required to access your Skype account thanks to a system update from Microsoft. In this article, we’ll go over how to unlink Skype from your Microsoft Account and provide you some pointers and directions.
How to unlink Skype from my Microsoft account?
- Enter your Microsoft account information. When prompted to link Microsoft services with Skype, select “Log out” by clicking the “no thanks, continue” option at the bottom of the pop-up message.
- From the menu bar in the upper left corner, choose Settings to remove your Microsoft login information from use in the future. Then go past Privacy & Safety settings to the Accounts > Security > Connected Services menu until you find Connected Services (please note that some web browsers might require that you scroll right). Click Remove after selecting Skype. If necessary, there will also be a way to re-add Microsoft in the future.
- Microsoft login credentials will no longer be needed after Skype has been removed from your Microsoft account and you have logged out of your Microsoft account.
Select Settings from the top-left menu bar to delete your Microsoft login information for future usage. Then go past Privacy & Safety settings to the Accounts > Security > Connected Services menu until you find Connected Services (please note that some web browsers might require that you scroll right). Click Remove after selecting Skype. Should a future need arise, there will also be an opportunity to include Microsoft once more. “Microsoft login credentials will no longer be needed after Skype has been removed from Microsoft account and you have logged out of Microsoft account.
Skype cannot be merged with or disconnected from your Microsoft account. You can login in to all of this company’s services with your account, including Skype, Office Online, Outlook, OneNote, OneDrive, and Xbox Live.
Why do I have 2 Skype accounts?
One reason you might be seeing two accounts under one email address is that you might have created a new Skype account by signing in to Skype with your account’s associated email address rather than your Skype Name without first merging the two.
What happens when you delete Skype account?
Any information connected to your Microsoft account, including your Skype contacts, purchases, and chat history, is permanently deleted when you delete it. After you remove the account, Microsoft cautions that it could take up to 30 days for your name to vanish from the Skype directory.